Zenbu [Revisit]

okonomiyaki @ zenbu

Dear fellow tasters,

This is a revisit post, the first of its kind, of Zenbu.  I was actually thinking of updating the original posts for revisits but I guess I’ll just write a new post for them.  One dreary Friday for lunch, I asked one of my office friends to accompany me to go to Plaza Indonesia.  I had already decided to go to Zenbu to try their omurice, blame it on the ‘Lunch no Joou’ j-drama that I recently watched, featuring a scrumptiously looking omelet rice with demi-glace sauce.  So I ordered the beef omurice which was pretty delicious and huge in portion, but it didn’t really come close to what I imagined because the beef katsu was served with curry sauce instead of demi-glace and the egg was thinly fried instead the fluffy melting omelet that I was looking for.

Meanwhile, my friend ordered the seafood katsu don which looked pretty appetizing. I didn’t really get to try it because I was too busy trying to finish my omurice.  I still had one okonomiyaki coming up and I doubted that my friend would be willing to help me with that.  The Japanese pancake tasted pretty nice though it was flour-based instead of egg-based which I usually prefer.  Also, there were no bonito shavings on top and I couldn’t really taste the bacon inside.  Overall, it was an enjoyable and satisfying lunch, but I would say that I’m definitely still in search of a melting omurice with demi-glace sauce.  Oh, where art thou, omurice-san…

The taster’s notes (ratings were pretty much the same):
Favorite dish – beef omurice
What to try next time – try other mozaru, maybe ramen or udon
Food rating  3 star
Price rating  $$
Ambiance rating  2 star
Service rating  2 star

http://www.zenbu.co.id
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Zenbu/10097384305
twitter: @Zenburesto

2 responses to “Zenbu [Revisit]

What are you thinking?