Collage, Pullman Jakarta Central Park

collage all day dining

Dear fellow tasters,

Have a joyous new year!  Last year has been truly a foodie blessing for me.  This blog already reached 40,000+ hits and I also received many invitations for food tasting and gathering events.  So for the first post of 2012, I am going to look back to a food tasting that I had in December 2011 and it was quite a wonderful and fulfilling one.

The tasting was for Collage, an all day international dining restaurant at the recently opened Pullman Hotel Jakarta Central Park.  With stylish urban-pop industrial-raw concept, Pullman Jakarta is a refreshing sanctuary in the midst of crowded West Jakarta vicinity.  Collage is no less entertaining for the gastronomic appetite with scrumptious line-up of various cuisines buffet and live cooking shows, available for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  Besides the buffet, some popular signature dishes, alcoholic cocktails, and non-alcoholic mocktails are also available via a la carte.

My exploring Collage started with a visit to the hors d’oeuvres.  I picked four of them and one was quite unique, the foie gras brulee.  Next stop was Japanese with some sashimi slices (ask the friendly chef to slice some for you) and mini soba.  Sushi was also served but I didn’t get a chance to try.  Then, I picked up a plate with some Indian dishes.  The mutton vindaloo was quite tasty.

The next course was one of the highlights of the evening with the scrumptious and tender slow-cooked beef slices.  I also tried the lamb a la provencale, quite enjoyable but too medium to my liking.  Another signature dish worth trying was the fluffy and fragrant nasi bakar majapahit (majapahit grilled rice), a wonderful attempt at a traditional Indonesian cuisine.  Regretfully, there was no other Indonesian cuisine to accompany the rice, except for the selection of sambals.  I actually wanted to try the Peking duck for my Chinese plate, but apparently they ran out of it so I picked some fried dim sum and red bean pancake instead.

More were served than I could actually eat.  Homemade pasta, cold cuts, fresh seafood and oyster, and noodles were some that I didn’t get a chance to try.  I supposed I would rather save some place for the delightful desserts.  Colorful macaroons, panna cottas, hazelnut praline, financier, and croissant pudding were some scrumptious items from the array of Collage’s assorted desserts.  Thank you Collage and Pullman Jakarta Central Park for inviting me.

Happy new year and happy eating!

The taster’s notes:
Favorite dish – the slow cooked beef and desserts
What to try next time – pasta, fresh seafood and oyster
Food rating  3 star
Price rating  $$
Ambiance rating  3 star
Service rating  3 star
Damage 0, the price for the buffet is from 190k++/pax

Collage All Day Dining
Pullman Jakarta Central Park
Podomoro City
Jl. Let. Jend. S. Parman Kav. 28, Jakarta 11470
Ph: +6221 29200088
Fax: +6221 29200099
http://www.pullmanjakartacentralpark.com
http://www.pullmanhotels.com/gb/hotel-7536-pullman-jakarta-central-park/index.shtml
http://www.facebook.com/pullmanjakartacp

3 responses to “Collage, Pullman Jakarta Central Park

  1. Hello Dino,

    Happy New Year to you too. I believe you have passed unforgetable and pleasant moments last holiday season.

    Thank you for the post. You have such an appealing blog. Appreciate to have written your experience on an evening with us and we are pleased to know that you had a great time.

    Stay in touch and on behalf of Pullman Jakarta Central Park, we are wishing you a brand new year with full of hope and greater successes.

    Cheers,

    Rita Elisabeth

  2. Hi, I seriously recommend you to update your review for this particular restaurant. I was so inspired with your review that I decided to try this restaurant, and it was disappointing. The price is now 390ish per person, staffs are very reluctant in service, I was asked by the cook whether or not to put paprika in my carbonara (it was not an omelette, for goodness’ sake!), there were very limited cakes, no crunchy burnt sugar on my creme brûlée, and my BBQ fish smells like a rotten fish.
    I’m sorry, but I’m not amused at all. I think everyone should know this before they decide to come.

    • Hi Abigail, sorry it took me so long to reply to your comment.
      I feel sorry for your bad experience with the restaurant. There may have been changes on the quality of the food over the course of time. I certainly hope you can forward your complain to the restaurant’s manager or person in charge so they may improve on the service and food quality there. Cheers!

What are you thinking?

