Furama

assorted dim sum @ furama

Dear fellow tasters,

A dim sum brunch on a late Saturday morning is always a thing to look forward to and one of the places to go for all-you-can-eat dim sum is Furama, an oriental restaurant located on Hayam Wuruk boulevard, central Jakarta.  Furama serves up Cantonese cuisine, Teochew night porridge, and many other Chinese cuisine but that day my friends and I went there for the dim sum.  I would say that the dim sum here tasted quite delicious, probably because some of them contained pork.  Apart from the regular items that we could find in other places such as the ha kau (shrimp dumpling), siu mai, meat balls on bean-curd, chicken feet, and fried shrimp dumpling with mayonnaise, there was one type that I found there for the first time and we pretty much liked, the salted egg bun (the orange round thing in the middle).  I also enjoyed the tasty lo mai kai (lotus leaf rice) here which had more stuffings than the rice.  We also ordered avocado and mango puddings for dessert but it turned out they’re not included in the dim sum package price so we paid extra for them.

One regrettable thing about this restaurant was the poor service.  That was my first and only visit and there was a misunderstanding which then led to an argument (not sure if it was a mistake on my part, but I felt really bad about it).  I actually arrived there before my friends and the waiter asked if the dim sum package will use a citibank credit card for a discount (there was that promo at that time) and I said no because I didn’t have one and I didn’t know that one of my friends had one.  Then my friends showed up and then we ate and ate.  When we got the bill, my friend used her citibank credit card and without looking at the bill, signed the cc paper thingy.  Once we looked at the bill closely, we were actually charged the full price, so my friend  complained to the cashier and then the manager.  What we didn’t really appreciate was how the staffs handled this problem.  After a long heated argument, we actually got a refund but our impression on their service to the customers had dropped to a lowest level.  Well, that sounded more and more like a complaint letter, so I’ll just end it here and hope that their level of service improves in the future.

The taster’s notes:
Favorite dish – the salted egg bun and lo mai kai
What to try next time – might try other menu but will see if their service improves
Food rating – 3 star
Price rating – $$
Ambiance rating – 2 star
Service rating – 1 star

http://www.furama.co.id

3 responses to “Furama

  1. Furama used to have the best la mian satay seafood in town!

    But sadly, now they sell no more la mian, katanya kurang laku, dan bayar chefnya mahal karena orang luar😥

  2. Furama is quite legendary, been around for a long while. my parents used to take me to this place, back in the days, where restos still use bright neon lights, they were famous for their porridge. Wondering if this is the same but revamped Furama.

  3. Niya: la mian satay seafood sounds yummy ^^

    Ruby: I think it is the same place if looking at their website…

What are you thinking?

