Hachi Hachi Bistro

sashimi appetizer @ hachi hachi bistro

Dear fellow tasters,

One day I was wandering around Mal Taman Anggrek which was quite a rare visit and I remembered a friend recommending a sushi place just next to the ice skating ring.  Thus, I decided to have my lunch there, at Hachi Hachi Bistro.  Not sure why a sushi joint is called a bistro, but looking at the tag line “sushi ‘n whatever” and browsing through the extensive and slightly cheaper priced menu, I guess you can say this sushi restaurant is more like a bistro compared to a fine dining restaurant.

I was eating alone that day so I only ordered the miso soup, unagi nigiri, sashimi appetizer, and the black dragon roll.  The miso soup was pretty ordinary and the unagi nigiri is fairly satisfactory for me as an avid unagi lover.  I loved the sashimi appetizer.  The salmon was pretty fresh, sliced generously, and shaped beautifully into a flower with a dash of ikura in the center.  I also enjoyed the delicious black dragon roll, a medium-sized sushi roll with shrimp tempura center and yummy unagi and black tobiko topping.

The taster’s notes:
Favorite dish – the sashimi appetizer and black dragon roll
What to try next time – definitely will try other menu, sushi ‘n whatever =D
Food rating – 3 star
Price rating – $
Ambiance rating – 2 star
Service rating – 2 star

2 responses to “Hachi Hachi Bistro

  1. actually, this is one of my family fave restaurant. my fave food here is spicy seafood yaki udon, my mom’s fave is baked salmon sushi, hehe…also I like the bistro rice, tempura calamary, and the kids menu (if i’m not hungry enough, i prefer ordering from the kids section)🙂

What are you thinking?

