Pisa Kafe

pisa kafe ice cream

Dear fellow tasters,

Pisa Kafe is a classic Italian cafe and restaurant in Jakarta and is already in existence from a decade ago when I was in college and I used to get a scoop of gelato or two at their cafe in Lippo Karawaci just across my campus building. It has been ages since I last went there and one late evening my couple friend invited me to come over to Pisa Kafe Menteng for dinner. I was actually already full from canapés I ate at an alumni gathering event but I supposed I still had room for some dessert.

When I got there, my friends already ordered the calzone and cream soup and I thought I would just order something from the gelato menu. So I chose an ice cream menu with strawberries with a name that I can’t really remember. I got a small slice of the calzone which is a turnover version of pizza and it tasted pretty nice although all the steam inside the dough made it a little bit wet. I didn’t try the cream soup but my friend said that she could make a better version. Although it looked lusciously red and inviting, my strawberry creamy ice cream was kind of a disappointment. The creamy ice cream was already melting and tasted a bit weird, save the strawberry. We complained to the waiter about this, but he argued nicely that it was probably a wrong choice of menu and recommended that we ordered another gelato menu, this time with six gelato flavor of our choosing which turned out to be delicious. All told, I guess Pisa Kafe can be a nice place to hangout and have a meal with friends. They also have regular live music performances, alfresco dining area, and a variety of menus to choose from: pasta, pizza, grilled, gelato, coffee, cocktails, spirits, and lots more.

The taster’s notes:
Favorite dish – the calzone and gelato
What to order next time – maybe something from the pasta or grilled menu
Food rating – 2 star
Price rating – $$
Ambiance rating – 2 star
Service rating – 2 star

http://www.kafepisa.com

What are you thinking?

