Delicious Kitchen

delicious kitchen

Dear fellow tasters,

It was the second last day of my Hong Kong trip, after a day of watching adorable pandas at the Ocean Park and more shopping at Causeway Bay’s endless shopping arcades and fashion outlets.  I flipped open my lonely planet guide and my friend and I agreed to try Delicious Kitchen, a Shanghainese eatery located near Fashion Walk in Causeway Bay area.  It was late dinner time by the time we located the restaurant and yet it was packed with hungry diners, munching and conversing in incomprehensible dialects.  Lucky for us, we managed to get a table although ended up sharing it with a couple other customers.

From the extensive Chinese comfort food menu, I ordered the nanking beef, a dish which I had absolutely no idea about, while my friend played it safe with the wonton in soup and steamed rice.  We had a bit of difficulty with ordering because the waitresses seemed to know very little English so all I did was point my finger on the menu number. My food showed up not looking like what I imagined it would be.  Apparently, the waitress misunderstood my order with the beef tendon which was right under the nanking beef on the menu.  Thankfully, it all got resolved well because I am not really a fan of beef tendon.

As for the taste, the nanking beef was quite delicious.  The darkish brown beef was cooked to tenderness in spiced thick brown broth, making me think of Indonesian semur daging.  It was served with a bowl of fluffy steamed rice with vegetables.  I also tried the wonton but I found it to be just ordinary.  Should I come here another time, I will definitely order the pork rib, a supposedly popular dish here which appeared in most tables I saw.

Happy tasting!

The taster’s notes:
Favorite dish – the nanking beef
What to try next time – double pork rib
Food rating 3 star
Price rating $
Ambiance rating 2 star
Service rating 2 star
Damage 52 HKD/pax

Delicious Kitchen
Shop B, G/F, 9-11 Cleveland St
Causeway Bay, Hong Kong
Ph: +852 2577 7720
2 responses to “Delicious Kitchen

    • Ivy: yeah I think I ordered the wrong dish, my bad. Definitely will do what you recommend :)

What are you thinking?

